Heart-Centered Humans for Animals' Rights and Protection

HARP for Animals​

Copyright © HARP for Animals. All rights reserved.

SECTION HEADS ARE ALSO LINKS TO PAGES

Visit the following resource for the complete guide:

From VRG's website:

"As part of VRG's ongoing food ingredients project, an extensive list
of most food ingredients provides information about whether an ingredient
is vegan, vegetarian, or nonvegan (derived from animals). The list focuses
on commercial sources of ingredients and includes other possible sources
of ingredients."


"Vegetarian Journal's Guide to Food Ingredients is a partial listing of
​common food ingredients taken from an ongoing VRG food ingredients project. Our objective in this booklet is to provide an easy-to-read, useful list of ingredients commonly found in many foods and beverages that indicates whether they are vegetarian, vegan, or non-vegetarian. Our Guide is unique in that we place emphasis on the commercial sources of ingredients most commonly used today while mentioning other possible sources of ingredients.


Vegan 

"The ingredient contains no animal-derived products or byproducts whatsoever. Its processing occurs solely with or by non-animal substances. Non-vegetarian: The ingredient, or substances used to process the ingredient, is derived from meat, poultry, fish, or seafood, or some other part of an animal's (including insect's) body (such as cochineal, rennet or gelatin).


Vegetarian

"The ingredient contains no meat, poultry, fish, or seafood, nor any products derived from them or any other part of an animal's (including insect's) body.
The ingredient was not processed using animal-derived substances (such as
​bone char). Eggs and dairy, and substances derived from them, are vegetarian. Insect secretions, (such as honey), are vegetarian."


~ Vegetarian Resource Group



LIVING VEGAN

Is It Vegan?

By Jeanne Yacoubou, MS, VRG Research Director